PhD Program

The Doctoral Programme in Philosophy is a three-year PhD programme

  • open to self-funded, third-party-funded and pre-doctoral researchers
  • structured upon a number of compulsory activities (coursework, exposé, faculty presentation, doctoral thesis agreement, annual reports, thesis submission and defensio)
  • of 24 ECTs (15 of which must be in Doctoral Seminars)
  • see the Curriculum
  • Our StudienServiceCenter Philosophie (SSC) administers the compulsory activities (coursework, recognition of examinations, Exposé & FÖP, submission and defense of the dissertation).
  • Contact: SC Service Desk - Doktorat
  • The VDP administers the doctoral training, a non-compulsory support for compulsory activities. 
  • A comprehensive guide to our doctoral program is the VDP Handbook.


Structure of PhD Studies

Entry Phase: Year 1

Compulsory Milestones

Doctoral Training*

  1. Get fit for the FÖP at the WIP Seminar
  2. Participate in the Writing Evenings
  3. Participate in Pragmatic Academic Series
  4. Participate in the Center for Doctoral Studies workshops
  5. Register an additional supervisor and establish a thesis advisory committee

* These activities are also open to doctoral candidates in the research phase (years 2 and 3).

Research Phase: Years 2 and 3

Compulsory Activities

  1. Write doctoral thesis chapters or scientific papers
  2. Participate in doctoral seminars
  3. Deliver undergraduate teaching (where contracted to do so)
  4. Complete the annual progress reports

Doctoral Training

  1. Organize a summer school
  2. Organize an academic event
  3. Participate in academic conferences
  4. Undertake a research stay abroad
  5. Apply for teaching opportunities

Final Phase: Year 3

Compulsory Activities

  1. Submit and review your dissertation
  2. Defend your dissertation